Tale Of A New Fan

Being introduced to new artists is a fantastic feeling right? You wonder how they escaped your notice, and with each new band or artist you’re introduced to, there’s always more as a result. Like a gigantic musical tree, it’s branches entwining together, creating a vast musical forest.

The reason I start with being introduced to new music, is because of late I have been introduced to quite a few bands.

As some of you will know, I attend as many Robots In Disguise gigs as possible. And in doing so, in February I was introduced to Cut Ribbons, from Llanelli, South Wales. A talented bunch, and feeling patriotic for fellow Welsh folk, I instantly fell in love. I knew I’d have to go to the next Cut Ribbons gig I could.
Which turned out to be sooner than I expected..

 

On Tuesday 8th May, the band were providing support for Savoir Adore, at Undertone in Cardiff. I hadn’t heard of Savoir Adore, or the other support act, but with the promise of listening to new artists as well as supporting my current love, I was intent on attending.

The first act of the night, the first support, were Dancing Years. The Leeds band, comprising of 6, captivated the audience immediately with their personality, and enjoyable and catchy songs which had us all nodding our heads approvingly. Talent in abundance, there must have been at least 10 instruments played throughout the entire set, and combining violin, accordion and electric guitar, it was clear these guys were fresh, smart and musically endearing. As the set finished with an acoustic performance amongst the audience, I made a mental note to find out more about this band.

A short while later, the sole reason for me being there were all set up, and Cut Ribbons began their set. I may be slightly biased here, but yet again the band reaffirmed the reason they have a place in my heart. The passion they have for performing, and making music, I have not seen anything quite like it. They captivated the room immediately, magical vocals enticing a mix of swaying, foot-tapping and head-bobbing from the audience. Banter just flows naturally, and the few ‘boos’ when it was announced they were performing their last song of the night is evident enough that the room took the Llanelli based 5 piece to heart. I was fortunate enough to meet Aled and Anna after the performance, who were utter sweethearts.

And finally, the night’s headliners Savoir Adore took to the stage. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to stick around to see the full set, but the Brooklyn duo, like the acts before, were talented and immediately captivated everyone’s attention. It was a shame to leave as early into the set as I did, but I heard enough to know I was going to Google them.
It was definitely a fabulous night, a lovely venue,  and I came away with a Cut Ribbons t-shirt and renewed love for live music.
Dancing Years: @Dancing_Years
Cut Ribbons: @cutribbons
Savoir Adore: @savoiradore
Leave a Reply

